PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] unable to add attachments IN ANY mail (not just hotmail)

balkie99
April 7th, 2009, 09:46 AM
Hi there!

I am new to ubuntu, use I. Ibex, Firefox.
I use hotmail, gmail and a university mail system (runs sun java messenger) and I can not upload any attachments to any of these.
I click "attach" and a window comes out, where I could choose from files in an ideal case, but this is inactive, I cannot choose anything, nothing opens.
Help would be appreciated!
I tried the well-known user switching i firefox, but it does not work (and even if it would, for gmail it should be no problem).
Tried to configure Evolution for hotmail, but it cannot be accessed (it says I should pay for accessing...) and there are my two other accounts.
Is this a problem with Firefox or with Ibex?
Thanks.

CLomax
April 7th, 2009, 10:26 AM
Either Java isn't installed, in which case you should run...

sudo apt-get install ubuntu-restricted-extras
...in the terminal.

Or, failing that, you could be running the NoScript extention for Firefox which is blocking the java from running. Right click on the troubling page, go down to NoScript submenu and allow the website to run scripts.

:KS

balkie99
April 7th, 2009, 08:40 PM
Thank You,

I have installed Java right after switching to Ubuntu.

I cannot find the No Script in menu in Firefox, but I tried in Opera, there I could find enabling scrips, but again, nothing helps. It stops at the "open file" window and I cannot select any files.
Because it happens in Opera as well, I think it might be a wider problem of my system.
Heeeelp! Thanks for all those who are at least trying...

oh, and: I have checked my addons is firefox-I do not have NoScript, and my Java is 1.6.update 10. I know that there is an update 13 but this should not be the problem

balkie99
April 9th, 2009, 05:07 PM
A solution, but what is this???

Check this out.
What I did today, was to download the latest updates for Ibex.