PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Connected but not??



jaksef
April 2nd, 2009, 05:39 PM
I'm an extreme newbie to Linux. I just installed Ubuntu yesterday to my Dell Vostro 1500, and after I finally got my wireless to see our router, I still wasn't able to use Firefox or Pidgin.

"sudo dhclient" relays lots of "send_packet: Message too long" and ends with a "1 packets transmitted, 0 received, +1 errors, 100% packet loss, time 0ms" "SI0CSIFADDR: No buffer space available No working leases in persistent database - sleeping."

Being the n00b I am, I have no idea what most of that means.

"lshw -C network" reveals
"WARNING: you should run this program as super-user.
*-network
description: Wireless interface
product: BCM4312 802.11a/b/g
vendor: Broadcom Corporation
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:0c:00.0
logical name: wlan0
version: 01
serial: 00:1f:e1:0b:69:73
width: 32 bits
clock: 33 MHz
capabilities: bus_master cap_list ethernet physical wireless
configuration: broadcast=yes driver=ndiswrapper+bcmwl5 driverversion=1.53+Broadcom, 10/12/2006, 4.100. latency=0 module=ndiswrapper multicast=yes wireless=IEEE 802.11b"

"iwconfig" replies with wlan0 saying
"IEEE 802.11b ESSID:"<myessidname>"
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.437 GHz Access Point: 00:40:96:35:F0:13
Bit Rate=11 Mb/s Tx-Power:32 dBm
RTS thr:2347 B Fragment thr:2346 B
Power Management:off
Link Quality:75/100 Signal level:-48 dBm Noise level:-96 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0"

That's all I've got, guys. Again, my network manager says that I'm connected to the wireless network, but I can't get on the internets. I'm sorry I have no idea what I'm doing, but any help would be greatly appreciated and replied to :)

johnjohn2
April 2nd, 2009, 06:15 PM
Have you beeen able to use router before? (Connecting Wirelessly that is?)
With any other PC?

In the router settings you can c what is connected to the router, refer to the manual.

Try connecting via ethernet to just make sure that your connection is functioning correctly.

Regards

John

jaksef
April 2nd, 2009, 06:22 PM
Yes, I'm able to connect via ethernet, and when I used Windows XP with my Dell I was able to connect to the router without a problem :( and like I said, I switched over yesterday.