PDA

View Full Version : question about this new virus threat

roaddummy
April 1st, 2009, 12:14 AM
I am wondering, since I am new to Linux, what the Ubuntu users need to do, if anything, about this Conficker virus threat that is all over the news??? I have heard that most of the viruses are mainly a windows or microsoft threat. They even said that Mac users should not be affected at this time. I just don't want to have to worry about rebooting and losing all my info and files that are stored. Thank you for any and all information that you can give a relative newbie to Linux.

Melanie

change_mode
April 1st, 2009, 12:17 AM
It's based on a windows vulnerability, so no need to worry.

roaddummy
April 1st, 2009, 12:20 AM
I thought it might be. Now, I am worried about my laptop. I am running windows on it, but I haven't used it in about a week. Do you think I would be safe with it?? I haven't had any problems with it so far, but I just don't want to take a chance. Boy, that would suck if I can't use it for a while. I am supposed to work the next three nights and I cannot go without a computer!!!!!! Also, I need to buy some scrapbook stuff sometime after midnight!!! I would hate to have a problem with that!! Thank you for the input. Do I need to get an antivirus security type of software for my computer, though?? If so, which one is the best out there in the free world??? Thank you!!

linuxuser21
April 1st, 2009, 12:21 AM
90% of the desktops are Windows (unfortunately). There viruses for Linux; however, there are very few of them & none that are serious.

change_mode
April 1st, 2009, 12:23 AM