PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Network PXE install problem - n00b

DeadlyChicken
March 31st, 2009, 12:33 AM
Hi there, I am new to Ubuntu having shunned Linux for many years I finally decided that I should give it a go. and now I feel kinda stupid for taking so long :p

I really like it and its perfect for my laptops which do not have much power and are used mostly for browsing.

Anyway I decided that it would be cool to get my oldest laptop going, but its too old for boot from usb, and its CD rom has crapped itself. So PXE network install

So I did some research and dove in. Now firstly, my router does dhcp ... can I ignore the dhcp bit and allow my router to keep doing this ?

( on my first attempt I just turned off the routers dhcp and let the laptop do it as listed in most of the guides I found )

anyway the stage I got to was the laptop that I wish to install on, was booting, finding the tftp server, and not finding the file, so I dug some more and I think I discovered where they needed to be and placed them in there.

then I tried a test on the server machine

tftp localhost -c get pxelinux.0

it returns

tftp: pxelinux.0: permission denied.

can anyone help me out ?

many thanks and sorry if this is already been asked I did search and could not find what I though tI needed.

DC

inobe
March 31st, 2009, 12:44 AM
haven't had the opportunity to PXE boot, i have been eye balling this

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/DisklessUbuntuHowto

edit: something more definitive http://developer.novell.com/wiki/index.php/HOWTO:_Convert_Ubuntu_to_Diskless

DeadlyChicken
March 31st, 2009, 01:01 AM
haven't had the opportunity to PXE boot, i have been eye balling this

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/DisklessUbuntuHowto

edit: something more definitive http://developer.novell.com/wiki/index.php/HOWTO:_Convert_Ubuntu_to_Diskless