PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Problems installing Ubuntu

alexinexile
March 31st, 2009, 12:30 AM
Sorry if theres explainations to my problems somewhere but i just couldn't see them!

Im a total Linux n00b. Ive been building my own PC's for a few years (im no expert but i can put together a system and install Windows *spits*) but ive had a bit of bad luck recently.

My main PC died and i built a new one two months ago. Then 'joy of joys' my HHD dies... long story slightly shorter is that my boss gave me his old PC to use until i get mine sorted.

Its a Compaq Pressario 6000. 2ghz celeron. 760mb or ram and 45gb's HDD. It has WIndows XP on it but no Windows disk. It runs incredibly slowly and id like to try Ubuntu as i have heard alot of good thing about it.

I tried running the Ubuntu disk but it wont start. It loads up and just as its about to start the screen just goes weird with a small black X in the middle.

Ive tried the disk in my new laptop and it runs no problem. Is there something wrong with my hardware? I cant risk doing a full install if it wont work.

Any ideas? Or should i give up and put up with Windows being rubbish?

alexinexile
March 31st, 2009, 08:41 AM
Ive started reading the free guide but any help would really be appreciated. Im a real fan of Open Source software (love Firefox and Open Office) and was really looking forward to testing it out!

ppb7
March 31st, 2009, 09:09 AM
Its a Compaq Pressario 6000. 2ghz celeron. 760mb or ram and 45gb's HDD. It has WIndows XP on it but no Windows disk. It runs incredibly slowly and id like to try Ubuntu as i have heard alot of good thing about it.

I seem to be in the same situation as you, only with a slightly different spec., but an infuriatingly and boringly slow XP.