PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] limewire or kazaa similar

lory
March 29th, 2009, 11:37 AM
Does anybody know an application to free download / share music from web for Ubuntu, similar to limewire or kazaa??

SHENGTON
March 29th, 2009, 12:21 PM
Hello lory, good evening. :)

I currently using Frostwire. You can use as well eMule. Just search using Google "Linux P2P File Sharing" or "Ubuntu P2P File Sharing".

Take care and God bless. :)

Kewlaid
March 29th, 2009, 03:45 PM
Hello lory, good evening. :)

I currently using Frostwire. You can use as well eMule. Just search using Google "Linux P2P File Sharing" or "Ubuntu P2P File Sharing".

A newbie here, just go onto Linux with the advice of a long term user. I am also interested but my concern would be malicious code with at least Frostwire as I have seen the results and not pretty, but would be interested in the others Emule I have heard of but not certain how non threatening it is..... I am thinking "Linux P2P File Sharing" or "Ubuntu P2P File Sharing". may be safer can anyone else advise? The only reason I am wanting more confirmation is the whole reason I started with Linux is system stability and community of course as well. Thanks and if I did not use this post in the best manner also please advise....any one at all please feel free to respond of course

cdwillis
March 29th, 2009, 03:49 PM
My first instinct is that Frostwire won't hose your system unless your running it as root, but I still don't trust peer to peer software, bit torrent clients excluded.

pafufta503
March 29th, 2009, 04:19 PM
try out a program called Nicotine. from there you connect to the soulseek server, where you can find 80% of anything your thinking of. just remember to set your firewall to allow Nicotine to connect.

timjohn7
March 29th, 2009, 05:30 PM
I strongly recommend Frostwire. It installs and runs painlessly, has great features and "just works".

SHENGTON
March 29th, 2009, 05:42 PM
@Kewliad