PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Hi all - New Here Looking for help/advise

NidgieWidgie
March 28th, 2009, 04:07 PM
Hello 2u all :)

I have tried, unsuccessfully, several times to install Ubuntu alongside my Windows XP installation. I would like to try it before I change to it full time.

The first few times I have installed it I have used the downloaded file from Ubuntu and used Wubi. This way has always left me with a command prompt and no idea of "what I should do?".

Over the last few days I have finally got it working by "booting it from the CD". I thought that "seeing as that worked, I would again try installing it along side my Windows". Again a command prompt...

My first thoughts were that I may have a hardware conflict, but seeing as it booted from the CD (in memory), I thought "maybe not?"

Here is a photo I have uploaded of the command prompt that I am getting and would like to ask any of you for any help/advise please as I am totally new to all this and haven't got a clue really about something that is probobally straight forward?

http://i71.photobucket.com/albums/i138/lynnig/DSC01056.jpg

I am using Ubuntu v8.10. ThanX in Advance ;)

kanikilu
March 28th, 2009, 04:12 PM
I've never seen that problem myself, but a quick search turned up this thread:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=987243

See if the suggestion in there helps at all...

sigurnjak
March 28th, 2009, 04:18 PM
Hi there !
First , there could be many reasons for your troubles so i can tell you few things that worked for me .
Did you set your bios to factory defaults . Funky bios settings can do all kinds of strange things .
I still use Hardy . Intrepid is little too touchy for me . When first starting with new OS go with most stable one .
Did you make room for Ubuntu on your HD . Sometimes i had to use 3rd party partitioning tools to make room for Ubuntu .

I hope this gets you going .