PDA

View Full Version : Call of Duty 4 and wine 1.1.17

Diblic
March 28th, 2009, 12:27 PM
Hey everyone

So my problem is that when I try and run Call of Duty 4 on Wine 1.1.17 (Using Ubuntu 8.10) it does not run full screen, instead it leaves my Avant window manager on the bottom and my task bar at the top visible. (For example I cannot click "apply" when changing settings in CoD because the Avant in on the way) Here is a picture for reference http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=24d0weu&s=5 .

My question is, that what can I do to run it fullscreen?

I am completely new to Linux, been using Ubuntu for like a week now, so please consider that in your answer :D

Best regards and thanks in advance!

-Diblic-

asda__
March 29th, 2009, 01:05 PM
Just go to Wine settings (Terminal > winecfg) and there, in the "Graphics" tab, uncheck "Allow the window manager to decorate windows".

Diblic
March 30th, 2009, 04:05 PM
That did not work, the menus are still there :(

Stunts
March 30th, 2009, 04:11 PM
Hello!
Try to turn of compiz and replace it with metacity.
just press "Alt+F2" and type:

metacity --replace

Wine doesn't play well with compiz.
After you are done playing you can turn the desktop effects back on by doing the opposite in "Alt+F2":

compiz --replace

This should at least make the menu bar go away. as for AWN, well, Maybe try an auto hide function?
Good luck!

Diblic
March 30th, 2009, 04:14 PM
Found a solution, I unchecked both, "allow window manager to decorate windows" and "allow window manager to control windows" and now its running all good and full screen. ;D

Stunts
March 30th, 2009, 04:15 PM
Glad to hear that!
Have fun!

Diblic
March 30th, 2009, 04:40 PM
Hmm,

now I have to get Garena running but thats completely another story...

:D

Stunts
March 30th, 2009, 10:05 PM
Try the winehq appdb.
It's a great resource for that sort of thing.
Good luck once again.

x3|rAGE
April 1st, 2009, 09:30 AM