PDA

View Full Version : Reactos - wine alternative?

ilikecheese
March 27th, 2009, 11:33 PM
Hello everybody

I've been running ubuntu on a dual boot for about three years now and have gained a wealth of info from this forum in the past. I very rarely use windows anymore, however there are times when i'm forced to use it due to some incompatability issues with WINE.

So heres my question. Has anybody tried Reactos?

I discovered this os today and was curious if its worth trying?

I would use it with Virtual box, if possible, for those times that i need to run windows software. Its currently in the alpha stage, but no matter as i said earlier i rarely use windows now.

http://www.reactos.org

Thanks in advance to all who respond.

Mulenmar
March 27th, 2009, 11:37 PM
I tried it about a year ago -- the CD wouldn't even boot, and I recorded it at 1x, no errors.

It might be better now, but I'm not sure. Why reinvent the triangular wheel, is what I want to know -- even if they share code into Wine in the process.

Performance of running ReactOS in a VM is probably a lot less than running Wine in Linux, too.

smartboyathome
March 27th, 2009, 11:38 PM
Hello everybody

I've been running ubuntu on a dual boot for about three years now and have gained a wealth of info from this forum in the past. I very rarely use windows anymore, however there are times when i'm forced to use it due to some incompatability issues with WINE.

So heres my question. Has anybody tried Reactos?

I discovered this os today and was curious if its worth trying?

I would use it with Virtual box, if possible, for those times that i need to run windows software. Its currently in the alpha stage, but no matter as i said earlier i rarely use windows now.

http://www.reactos.org

Thanks in advance to all who respond.

It isn't worth it yet. It barely runs without crashing. I would say Wine is just better at the moment.

perlluver
March 27th, 2009, 11:39 PM