PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Couple of issues, but still I march on in defiance of windows, help would be nice.

yergeht
March 25th, 2009, 07:21 PM
Ok hi guys, I'm pretty new to ubuntu, but have used linux in the past... I installed about a year ago but kept using my 'puter in dual boot XP :(
Until about a month ago... I just can't take windows anymore, I had a taste and now I'm back... I had to get a new HD so I could dual boot, and still have space left for my /swap, and /tmp

Now I'm back, but still having a couple of unsettling issues... mainly my video card, or at the least my xorg-config.

My problem(s) are these:

Firstly, I can't seem to overwrite my xorg.config should I chmod it and if so where is it located in file structure?

Also, I have been reading this site almost religiously.... I'm DONE with windows, so I read on and try to suppress all those years learning my windows *sighs...(and I never even touched vista). Anyways when my log-in screen comes up, my screen resolution is a normal, 1600 * 1200, but after I log in, the screen goes black, redraws the screen in a less respectable 1280 *1024, and my cursor becomes my aero glass cursor, so something is being loaded after my log-in, is it connected to the xorg-config file? Whats strange is that sometimes I can change the screen resolution through the nvidia x-server console but then other times I can't, a reboot usually changes that. Also I have two separate appearance settings, one through the emerald theme manager theme, and then the other trough the system -> preferences-> Appearance

How can I make one dominant, mainly my theme,

I have 4 separate desktop images,
http://c2.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images02/77/l_cfec025c7c5047e28dfa73cd76402921.jpg
which means I had to stop letting nautilus draw my desktop... I don't know if it's an issue or not.