PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] easier way to load a webcam?

seabrighter
March 25th, 2009, 07:46 AM
I'm trying to find out how to use my Aiptek webcam with Intrepid. Every documentation I come across seems to point to some lengthy outdated instructions that ask me to learn programming. Is there an easy way to do this without entering lines and lines of code? I'll admit that I'm new to Ubuntu, but I thought the point of this OS was to make it easy for people to move away from Windows? Do I really have to program the operating system to use my webcam?

dagoth_pie
March 25th, 2009, 10:53 AM
if it doesnt work as soon as its plugged in, then odds are itll take a lil work to get running, but theres plenty of us here to help, what kind of connection does it use? usb?

seabrighter
March 26th, 2009, 02:13 AM
if it doesnt work as soon as its plugged in, then odds are itll take a lil work to get running, but theres plenty of us here to help, what kind of connection does it use? usb?

Yes, it is a USB webcam. It's a digital camera, but it's one that can function as either a webcam OR a flash drive when plugged in. After you plug it in and turn it on, the camera's display lets you choose "camera" or "disk."

I can barely follow all the jargon about working with the terminal window. Can't you just download files and copy them into the appropriate folders? I suppose it's not hard to copy and paste lines of code into a terminal window, but I feel uncomfortable not knowing what all these commands mean and what they are doing (in the event that it doesn't work).

dagoth_pie
March 26th, 2009, 03:48 AM
right well, first things first, plug it in and tell it to use the camera then. After it should be working go into the terminal and run the command

lsusb