PDA

View Full Version : World of Warcraft issue

Rockstajim
March 25th, 2009, 12:26 AM
Well, I'm gonna start off with a little story of what I have ever done since I just installed Ubuntu.

I was looking up videos of Linux Ubuntu and seeing how fast it is, and it looks like to me it runs a wee-bit faster than XP and has a very good performance. So, what I have done is installed Ubuntu from Wubi and got it running and I am happy about that. Took me 2 hours to get Adobe Flash Player to install on Mozilla since I am TOTALLY NEW to this. I have no clue how to use Linux, but I love it how it is so smooth. I truely hate vista since it is 2 times slower than XP, and it just sucks, hogging up all your CPU/RAM just to run it. I looked around on the internet on how to play WoW on Linux and what I stumbled upon is PlayonLinux.com. It seems to be a really neat program, I installed it. Being a total noob, I have no clue how to get it to play my games, I went to my folder that carried my installed games from Windows and the only game I got running was Diablo 2 since it required no CD, I right clicked and just clicked "Open with Wine Windows Program Loader". I got Diablo 2 working like a charm, and running SUPER SMOOTH, as in NO FPS LAG when I go play online. I would get that stupid FPS lag no matter what on any Vista computer that I've tried.

So...What I'm asking for is, what can you guys do to help me get WoW running and some other programs I have installed? My drivers are up to to date and good. :D

My Laptop's spec:
4GB Ram
Intel 2 Core Duo 2.33
Nvidia 9800M GTS 512MB Discrete video memory

I'm also running on 64Bit Ubuntu.

Spr0k3t
March 25th, 2009, 03:50 AM
There's an awesome guide for installing the latest updates/patches for WoW at http://www.wowwiki.com/Wine Give that a look through to see if that helps.

Rockstajim
March 25th, 2009, 05:42 AM