PDA

View Full Version : OSX switcher tips?

quietglow
December 30th, 2005, 06:20 PM
I'm a Mac admin, and I've been using Ubuntu since July--I love it. Lots of discussion is focused around making Windows switchers comfortable with Linux, but there is not as much directed to mac switchers.

I was wondering if any other OSX switchers might want to share tips for making Linux seem more "homey?"

I still use osx frequently at work so little things that help make switching back and forth easily are the things I focus on. For instance, the first thing I do when I install Ubuntu is move the window buttons to the proper, I mean left, side :-) Only making the switch back and forth from the control to the apple key causes me more grief. The window buttons are an easy fix though:

Applications>System Tools>Configuration Editor

Open "apps" and then find "metacity" and open it. Click on the general folder and note the "button layout" in the right part of the configuration editor. You can double click on the list of buttons and change them to "close,maximize,minimize:menu instead" of "menu:close,maximize,minimize" or even take out the maximize and minimize if you're going for the OS 9 style.

poofyhairguy
December 30th, 2005, 10:33 PM
Install Kompose or Skippy. Both in synaptic.

Kompose is better.

Use KDE and have a universal menu bar.

Find one of the many OSX themes for Gnome or KDE.

Use Engage:

http://www.enlightenment.org/Applications/Engage/

Or the gdesklets starterbar:

sudo apt-get install gdesklets gdesklets-data

Applications, accessories, gdesklets.

Use my guide to turn on drop shadows:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=75527

quietglow
December 30th, 2005, 11:39 PM
Use my guide to turn on drop shadows:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=75527

Oh man do those drop shadows make things look osx-y!

galvatron1983
December 31st, 2005, 12:25 AM