PDA

View Full Version : An idiot on another forum...

suitedaces
March 19th, 2009, 08:37 PM
has just posted this in a reply to a harmless comment I made.

What's linux? Every new flavour is so dumbed down they may as well call them vista or leopard

If it wasn't free it would be **** and open source programs are 99% garbage security riddled crap written by developers who couldn't make it in any of the big software houses. This crapware is free for a reason.

Would you buy a car that was cobbled together from parts made by unknown sources? If so, when it broke down, who would you depend on to fix it?

Linux = apache. If you're not running an apache server then linux = useless to the vast majority.

He's a seasoned poster on there, so not your average troll. I know he's wrong, but I'm not good at articulating witty/deep internet responses. Can anyone help me out?

blueamcat
March 19th, 2009, 08:39 PM
Sad. Makes you feel bad for them almost. They don't know what they're missing! I'm not good at that sort of thing either.

suitedaces
March 19th, 2009, 08:43 PM
Oh, he's just edited this onto his post:

The simple fact that it’s been around and available for free for the past 10+ years and yet the installed base is less than 1% should ring a bell.

kestrel1
He obviously hasn't tried Linux. If he is willing to spend his hard earned on MS & Apple stuff then let him. Basically he has no idea what he is saying.

73ckn797

He's a seasoned poster on there, so not your average troll. I know he's wrong, but I'm not good at articulating witty/deep internet responses. Can anyone help me out?

I get the impression that the person is arrogant and really knows nothing much about what they are saying.