PDA

View Full Version : world of warcraft+wine?

Rumbl3
March 19th, 2009, 02:20 AM
Well yeah i've seen a few threads etc. I'm just curious how well does the game run? Will it run decent on my machine (specs in my sig).

I used to play on windows had two accounts then i "got rid of them" vowed never to play again. But just seems to be a lack of games on linux i can find to keep me truely busy and had a friend offer me his sons account which don't play anymore. So i figured what the hell might as well go back to play cause even on windows it ends up being the same game i end up back to.

I just love linux to much tho to go back to windows lol.

So i'm just curious what to expect? 60fps with medium graphics? 10 fps? just wondering.

any links also to tweaking etc would be kool seeing that i'm still pretty new to linux.

Also i haven't done much secruity based stuff might be the wrong thread to ask this but since i'm always interested in keeping wow secure and my machine secure because jerks seem to love to steal wow accounts any programs i should run on my machine to keep my gaming more secure?

hikaricore
March 19th, 2009, 02:24 AM
Depends on your video hardware.
I get between 50-120fps on my Nvidia card.

Intel "video" chipsets will likely have issues but ati and nvidia do quite well.

Rumbl3
March 19th, 2009, 02:34 AM
i got a geforce 9600gt 512mb card

The-IRS
March 19th, 2009, 02:36 AM
(deleted)

Rumbl3
March 19th, 2009, 02:39 AM
I had thought about it but i see it as i'm already going to be forking out money for wow account again plus the account my buddy is hooking me up with is a burning crusade account so i gotta go pick up wrath tomorrow also (cause i want to be a death knight lol).

I started my first account being dps (lock/mage/sham). my second account i got into healing priest and started a druid healer alt.

This time around i'm want to try tanking. So i figured i'd go with a death knight tank this time.

hikaricore
March 19th, 2009, 02:39 AM