PDA

View Full Version : Unable to get Wine working.

schievelbein
March 18th, 2009, 06:01 AM
I have been using Ubuntu for the last two years and never needed a windows product until lately. I needed to install PAF Persoanl Ancestory File, but I never even got that far. After I downloaded the install program and double clicked on it, nothing happen.

So I went to Applications->Programs->Accessories->Notepad, and clicked, NOTHING.

So I tried WineCfg, NOTHING.

Went to terminal and typed WineCFG,
I got : "wine: invalid directory ~/.wine in WINEPREFIX: not an absolute path"

I typed "Wine --Ver" and got wine 1.0.something, so I removed it COMPLETELY

I went to WineHQ and followed the directions to add the repository and install 1.1.17.

Tried the above and got same results.

I googled and it told me to go to /home/myname/.wine and do some stuff.
Trouble is, I do not have a .wine directory. Did my install not work correctly? Did my configure not work correctly? I have tried removing and reinstalling three times with same results. As far as I know, my system and all drivers are up to date.

Any and all suggestions are appreciated.

illmatic
March 18th, 2009, 12:36 PM
Have you tried to go to synaptic and delete the wine package completely and also do delete the windows directory by your own and just reinstall it ?

alex.rayu
March 18th, 2009, 12:42 PM
no .wine directory? Type "wine" in console. If that does not create a .wine directory, then you'll have to reinstall wine. Wine is supposed to create a new .wine directory whenever it is missing. Are you using some custom wineprefix in your menus?

cogadh
March 18th, 2009, 05:01 PM
The .wine directory is a hidden directory, so you will need to show hidden files (CTRL+H) to view it. When you do that, delete and re-run winecfg to create a new one.

schievelbein
March 18th, 2009, 08:47 PM
Thanks for the suggestions... but no go...