PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu & Freedom: Has anyone else suffered the "elitist" problem lately

Nightstrike2009
March 18th, 2009, 03:05 AM
Hiya everyone I am relatively new to Ubuntu and feel a distrubing trend on this forum by a select few to be all elitist with newcomers.

Most of the people on this forum have been very positive & helpful, a select few others have been a total pain in the backside. Like telling people how they should install their programs & how to use their PC's and so on. I maybe new but let me point one thing out I AM ON THE SAME SIDE AS YOU, If I was happy with the other OS's I wouldn't be here and using Ubuntu, I am here because I like Ubuntu and want to use it as my main OS one day. I am not here to be told what to do with my own PC and how to use it, I'd stick with Windows if I was happy with that attitude.

The biggest obstacle Ubuntu faces in my opinion is this elitist attitude a few users display toward newcomers. Linux is about FREEDOM of choice, FREEDOM of use, FREEDOM to do things your own way, as most of us know.

Has any others newcomers or otherwise experienced this problem lately?

Skripka
March 18th, 2009, 03:07 AM
UF is currently in a state of community meltdown, to put it mildly....unfortunately-new folks get caught in the crossfire.

wolfen69
March 18th, 2009, 03:08 AM
every OS has this. it's not just ubuntu/linux.

wolfen69
March 18th, 2009, 03:10 AM
UF is currently in a state of community meltdown

as you see it. i think the community is doing just fine.

what would you do to change it?

shadylookin
March 18th, 2009, 03:11 AM
I've been noticing it since birth it's called human nature. Sometimes people are just jerks some more often than others for any reason or none at all. You just got to learn not to let it ruin your good time.

Nightstrike2009
March 18th, 2009, 03:11 AM
I understand that Wolfen69, but its very annoying isn't it to mention stupid attacking our own kind.

In reply to Skripka