PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] acpi=force problem



AT4
March 16th, 2009, 09:36 AM
Hello,

I have an old laptop that I don't use so I thought why not try ubuntu! So i downloaded Xubuntu and when I try to install it on my harddisk it gives me an error code saying that "acpi=force is required to run ACPI".

When I try the boot command "acpi=off" it says it's loading and then goes into the BusyBox.

I'm not sure if I'm executing the boot command right though.

I didn't get much out of the other threads I have found, because I cannot install it.

How do I install it? :)

Thank you!

Partyboi2
March 16th, 2009, 09:45 AM
What are your system specs?

AT4
March 16th, 2009, 09:59 AM
What are your system specs?

Like I said, really old :KS

I don't have any specs on it, because I can't download everest or anything like that. It has 80MB RAM though. It is the Compaq 1540D.

Partyboi2
March 16th, 2009, 10:03 AM
Unfortunately it looks like you machine is way under the min system requirements for Xubuntu, You could try another distro like darn small linux (dsl) (http://damnsmalllinux.org/)

AT4
March 16th, 2009, 10:09 AM
Unfortunately it looks like you machine is way under the min system requirements for Xubuntu, You could try another distro like darn small linux (dsl) (http://damnsmalllinux.org/)

:o That looks pretty cool, I will try that. Thanks a lot!!