PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Power Management on Wild Dog: graphics card won't wake from sleep

darmok
March 10th, 2009, 04:43 AM
I apologize in advance for any deficiencies in my description. I'm a newbie to Linux; a convert from MacOS X.

I bought a Wild Dog Performance (revision "Wilp5") from System76 a few weeks ago, and have been trying to debug this power management issue. Basically, the system cannot wake successfully from any low-power mode, and I'm forced to restart the machine each time I try to wake it.

When I put the Wilp5 in "suspend" mode, I can wake it by pressing the power button on the front panel of the enclosure. The computer seems to wake fine (lights turn on, hard disk and fans whir normally), but there is no signal from my graphics card to my monitor. Reseating the monitor's plug in the DVI port doesn't help, nor does reseting the monitor. I am forced to restart the computer.

Curiously, when I try to wake my machine from "hibernate" mode, the computer behaves as with waking from "suspend," but there appears to be a signal getting to the monitor. The monitor's signal indicator glows, the blackness of the screen looks powered, and a cursor appears that I cannot move around the screen. No hint of the desktop, though, just a blank screen, save for the cursor. Again, I'm forced to restart the computer.

If it helps, I've been told that power management problems can be the root cause of some audio-visual problems. I've also been having trouble with playing DVDs on my computer: no matter what program I use (VLC Player, MPlayer, Totem), some DVDs just won't play properly. Sometimes the video is choppy and poor, sometimes the player can't even load the main DVD menu. Don't know if this helps.

Thanks for reading this far. I appreciate any help you folks might have.

darmok
March 10th, 2009, 03:35 PM