PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help a beginner to get started! =]

prozack
March 9th, 2009, 09:39 PM
Have just gone over to Linux and chose to run with Ubuntu 8.10, you should know that I have never used any Linux version before.

So I wonder if you could help me sort out a couple of questions.

In order to make Linux more secure - What are the options then. Are currently using Firestarter, it is sufficient or do I need something more.?

Instead of MSN, I chose to use "Pidgin", works fine, or you have a better suggestion.?

Instead of mIRC, should I use Irssi.If not what program would you prefer.?

Last but nevertheless an important point, is there any program for linux / ubuntu that is a must for YOU.(If tell me then, or link a site)

Thanks for all your help. - Best wishes, who wants to learn everything about ubuntu: P

ivanvajar
March 9th, 2009, 09:44 PM
Firestarter is not essential. Linux has no services that are 'faced out', so Ubuntu is a firewall itself. However, Firestarter is additional security measure and it's not bad idea to use it, but you mus configure it.

kanikilu
March 9th, 2009, 09:48 PM
Have just gone over to Linux and chose to run with Ubuntu 8.10, you should know that I have never used any Linux version before. Welcome :)

In order to make Linux more secure - What are the options then. Are currently using Firestarter, it is sufficient or do I need something more.? I think that's plenty, if you want to read up more on security, check out bodhi.zazen's Ubuntu Security thread (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=510812)

Instead of MSN, I chose to use "Pidgin", works fine, or you have a better suggestion.? That's what I use, but there are certainly other options if you are unhappy with it. Just list what you are looking for in a IM client, and I'm sure someone can suggest something.

Instead of mIRC, should I use Irssi.If not what program would you prefer.? I use xchat out of habit...haven't tried Irssi.