PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can i dual bot ubuntu 8.1 and vista?

cranky1984
March 8th, 2009, 08:24 PM
Hey folks,

Im a newbie to the linux community.

I burnt the live cd 2 days back with the help of a lotta good advice from the folks here..I ran it and simply loved ubuntu.

I was just wondering that instead of completely uninstalling vista , can i install ubuntu over vista and use both the os's as required? its just that I need some of the softwares on vista which I am currently working with. but i soo badly wanna move over to ubuntu..

can anyone tell me how would i do it and would it b a pain to get it up and running?

thanks in advance..

My configuration is
AMD AthlonTM 64 X2 Dual-Core processor TK-57 (1.9GHz/256KB)
2GB Shared Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 533MHZ, 2 Dimm
ATI Radeon® Xpress 1150 256MB HyperMemory蒂 (integrated)
120GB 5400RPM Hard Drive
8X DVD+/-RW with double-layer DVD+R write capability, Cyberlink Power DVD
Integrated Audio
Dell Wireless 1490 802.11a/g Wi-Fi Internal Card

bailbath
March 8th, 2009, 08:29 PM
Yes you can there are plenty of guides on the internet or on this forum.
I have not done it but there will be plenty of peeps on here that have.
http://vista.blorge.com/2008/02/22/how-to-dual-boot-vista-with-ubuntu/

Here's one guide but there are plenty more so google and take your choice.
Always back up your important files first.
Ian

bailbath
March 8th, 2009, 08:30 PM
Plus do some research on your hardware so you are prepared for any problems that may lie within!
Ian

Henry70
March 8th, 2009, 08:32 PM
Ciao Cranky1984,

In short: Yes, you can configure a dual boot system with Vista and Ubuntu. I recently bought a quad-core with Vista pre-installed and need Vista for certain apps. I've installed Ubuntu 8.04-AMD64, and only intervened in the installation option, once the setup installer is asking for the disk setup. If set right, Ubuntu will automatically install grub (boot-loader) and it works.