PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] beginner in need of terminal help please!

Foster88
March 7th, 2009, 11:51 PM
Hello!

So of course I'm a beginner/noob. I'm getting acquainted with moving through out my OS Via terminal. I'm having trouble understanding the help options within the terminal. Could I please see an example or few of what one would type to lets say... install a file or move a file etc.I dont think I quite understand what the source and directory are. I'm hoping that this will help me learn to install various themes,and such other graphic/desktop customizations to my OS

Highly appreciate the feed back.

Thanks

avtolle
March 7th, 2009, 11:58 PM
To install a package in the repositories through the terminal do
sudo aptitude update
sudo aptitude install name of package you want to installOthers will suggest using apt-get rather than aptitude; I started using aptitude "back in the day" and continue with it.

skymera
March 7th, 2009, 11:59 PM
Well i know some terminal commands, but not greatly in depth.
I make some examples, hopefully someone can expand. I use example directorys and file names blah blah :)
Use sudo when moving stuff to places other than your home (or where you dont have write permissions)

Move a file

sudo mv /home/USER/Desktop/file.txt /usr/share/

Copying

cp /home/USER/Desktop/file.txt /home/USER/Documents

You install a program using APT

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install htop

Install .DEB files

cd /location/of/file.deb
sudo dpkg -i filename.deb

Some basic terminal commands, these you probably will use the most :)

bapoumba
March 8th, 2009, 12:01 AM
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/CommandlineHowto

taurus
March 8th, 2009, 12:01 AM
http://www.ss64.com/bash/

DigiTan
March 8th, 2009, 12:26 AM
In practical terms, what are the advantages of aptitude vs. apt-get? I've heard aptitude is generally the stronger of the two.

ivanvajar
March 8th, 2009, 12:34 AM