PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Will my PC be compatable? I've looked around with not much info

Dejitaru-Kira
March 7th, 2009, 10:32 PM
Hey

ABSOLUTE Linux beginner here, I've only used Fedora on a friends PC and I was slightly put off by it.

But, I'm getting slightly sick of Windows atm as it's just using up too much of my PCs RAM with Superfetch and I never use my PC for more than MSN, IRC, Web browsing and Music. So I thought I'd give Ubuntu a go!

My specs are:

Intel Core 2 Duo E4500
4GB Corsair Dominator 1066MHz DDR2 RAM
nVidia 8400GS
RaLink RT61 Turbo Wireless LAN Card
MSI Motherboard w/ VIA Chipset
ATAPI DVD-R/RW/DL Drive
Seagate 250GB Hard Drive

I googled around a little and it came to a thread on here so I thought it would be a good idea to ask.

Thanks for any help :)

ClaytonOT
March 7th, 2009, 10:36 PM
Was this a joke?

You have a system that could run 10 Ubuntus if you wanted... My normal start-up memory is about 300mb (which is with an integrated gfx card, aswell) When I get my docks loaded and pidgin up and firefox rolling I sit at around 400mb usage, though the more you use firefox the more resources it'll suck up (tabbing mostly)

xpod
March 7th, 2009, 10:39 PM
You have a system that could run 10 Ubuntus if you wanted

Or one Ubuntu and a Vista virtual machine:D

thtrgremlin
March 7th, 2009, 10:45 PM
For entire machines, this is THE website to go to: http://www.ubuntuhcl.org/

For individual parts, a must web site: http://www.linuxquestions.org/hcl/index.php