PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Looking for a guide for ABSOLUTE beginners

darth_indy
March 7th, 2009, 10:01 PM
I'm looking for a guide for Ubuntu that's written for people that are completely new to computers. All the guides I've found seem to cater to fairly advanced Windows users converting to Ubuntu.

I have an aunt that truly has no clue when it comes to computers, and I've been getting her set up with an Ubuntu laptop so it was inexpensive, and fewer worries like viruses and defragging.

By no clue, I mean she asks me how to create a new folder, or where to download the internet. She used Windows a little bit before this, and literally thought of The Internet as the Big Blue E (Internet Explorer icon).

Does anyone have a guide that is geared towards true beginners, and isn't building on Windows knowledge? I'm not looking for "Beginner's guide to bash" or those sorts - they're still too advanced for her. While I don't mind helping her (I'm the only computer literate person she knows), I don't have enough time to help her through every step.

Any help would be great. If nothing else, it would help to print up a couple simple webpages for her to read.

kellemes
March 7th, 2009, 10:03 PM
https://help.ubuntu.com/8.10/index.html

terry_gardener
March 7th, 2009, 10:04 PM
you could try the following links

http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/

or

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=801404

presence1960
March 8th, 2009, 12:18 AM
I'm looking for a guide for Ubuntu that's written for people that are completely new to computers. All the guides I've found seem to cater to fairly advanced Windows users converting to Ubuntu.

I have an aunt that truly has no clue when it comes to computers, and I've been getting her set up with an Ubuntu laptop so it was inexpensive, and fewer worries like viruses and defragging.