PDA

View Full Version : Jinzora - your experiences

rooster
December 27th, 2005, 04:59 PM
Hi all,

I'm thinking of setting up jinzora (http://www.jinzora.com) and stream my MP3-files to all computers and a TV at the house. :-k

At the moment I'm running VDR (see my sig) on Debian with two DVB-S-cards and I want to install Apache and PHP for Jinzora on the same machine (for acces from TV for streaming music).

What are your experiences of a MP3-streaming solution with a nice interface?

Because of the high importance of the WAF* I was thinking of Jinzora - you can download album pictures, lyrics, browse albums, see similar music etc. But I heard that the performace is not so good, but we are only 3 persons in the house and maybe I can stream music from a friend of mine who is using Jinzora (and where I saw it and was fascinated from it). And I'm not experienced in setting up a web server or working with php so a good how-to is very much needed...

So please tell me what you think about it, if you want!

Rooster

*for those who doesn't know: WAF = women's acceptance factor

andlinux21
December 29th, 2005, 06:12 AM
I just installed jinzora so I havent run into any problems yet other than I need to go and retag a lot of my mp3s. So far so good I like it and my best friend can listen to my collection as well which is nice...:cool:

rooster
January 3rd, 2006, 04:25 PM
Hi andlinux,

thank you for sharing your experience! If I only have to tag my mp3-files I think that this can be done automagical. I'll search the net and try to find something.

And then I'll post it.

Rooster

rooster
January 4th, 2006, 01:54 PM
If I only have to tag my mp3-files I think that this can be done automagical. I'll search the net and try to find something.

I found Easytag (http://easytag.sourceforge.net/) for tagging files, there is also the functionality for tagging automatically:

Auto tagging: parse filename and directory to complete automatically the fields (using masks)