PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Problems with wireless on Ubuntu 8.10

dthorstein
March 3rd, 2009, 05:20 AM
I am a new user to ubuntu...a new linux user to be exact. I'm having an issue with my Acer Aspire 5310 laptop - it is not able to connect to the Internet wirelessly.

I don't mean to sound like a complete noob, but i have tried copying several help suggestions in this and other forums to no avail. My wireless card is an atheros device which i have determined as the problem (...duh).

What I need is someone to run me through how to correct this issue as soon as possible and help out however you guys can.

x1101
March 3rd, 2009, 05:35 AM
First, welcome aboard. Now, open a terminal window, (Applications -> accessories->terminal) and post the output of the following commands
ifconfig
iwconfig

also can you please describe the kind of wireless network you are trying to connect to? (open/wep/wpa)

dthorstein
March 3rd, 2009, 10:20 AM
ifconfig
ath0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1d:d9:2a:4d:37
inet6 addr: fe80::21d:d9ff:fe2a:4d37/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1b:38:5e:df:32
inet addr:192.168.1.110 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::21b:38ff:fe5e:df32/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:1300 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:463 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:738770 (738.7 KB) TX bytes:56412 (56.4 KB)
Interrupt:18

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1

wifi0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-1D-D9-2A-4D-37-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
RX packets:47926 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:3315