PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Xbox 360 live

monpolo
February 25th, 2009, 10:01 AM
So I'm trying to run xbox live thru my laptop running Ubuntu 8.10. Basically, my laptop connects to the internet wirelessly and then I run a crossover cable to my 360 to get onto live. This worked fine in Vista, but now Vista has become corrupted (surprise huh?) Anywho, how can I bridge my wireless and ethernet connections or enable network sharing between the two?

Sorry if this is a really obvious question but I'm still a linux noob.

ouija
February 25th, 2009, 10:07 AM
see: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=91370

Doing a quick scan, I read the fastest method could possibly be the following:

The Firestarter firewall can do all of this for you, by the way...

Code:

sudo apt-get install firestarter

Its just a frontend to iptables.

In its preferences, set "internet connected device" to the internet, and "local network device" to the local device. Then enable NAT and DHCP if you want...
varunus is offline Report Post Reply With Quote

monpolo
February 25th, 2009, 10:48 AM
Thanks for that, but now I'm getting an error message "The device eth0 is not ready" and that it can't start the firewall. eth1 is my wireless and running great and eth0 being my ethernet port where the cable runs to the xbox (through a hub which is basically doing nothing but connecting two cords so that they are long enough to reach) I've looked around and don't really understand what is wrong. My xbox is already set up to use a static ip address but perhaps I'm missing yet another obvious thing.

ouija
February 25th, 2009, 10:56 AM
are you sure about that? On my system, wlan0 is my wireless and my wired is eth0.
I just find it strange what your wireless would appear as "eth#" as that usually specifies a wired network card.

monpolo
February 25th, 2009, 05:47 PM