PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Noob needs help installing stuff

Zapatas Dog
February 22nd, 2009, 07:43 PM
Hey, I'm new to Ubuntu and totally psyched, but there's some stuff I don't get.

I understand the concept of how most software is downloaded and updated, or am beginning to, but what about installing programs from other sources?

I know now that a .deb runs smoothly, like an install.exe- I installed NeroLinux with a .deb- but I have two others that I can' figure out.

One is Darwinia. It came in an .iso and I finally mounted it with MountManager, but inside I found an install.exe, and nothing happens when I try to click it- it's definitely supposed to be for Linux.

The other is Savage2 (http://savage2.com/en/main.php)- it came in a .bin and I can't seem to mount it, although MountManager claims to mount .bin.

Also I downloaded PowerISO from their website- it was a .tar.gz, a zip file I gather. I unzipped it to the desktop but can't open it- it just sits there mocking me. Under properties it claims to be an executable file.

I'm used to just mounting images and they pretty much run themselves, so any specific or general advice would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Zapata's Dog

PS- I am mucking through the recommended guides also, but there's a lot of info to cover.

Temposs
February 22nd, 2009, 08:02 PM
Well, the thing is that you should be trying to use things from the repositories, rather than going on websites and downloading random programs you find. The ideal way to install new software on Ubuntu is to open the "Add/Remove" program from the Applications menu. You should try to find a program on there that meets your functional needs first. Any program you install on there will be updated as necessary. If after searching for programs on there, there's absolutely nothing that meets your needs, then you should go looking on the web.

Programs downloaded as debs or from source will not be updated.