PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Favorite Desktop?

Dbzdude707
February 21st, 2009, 11:46 PM
What's your favorite type of desktop and why?

Also, if you could, read the following and try to recommend me one. It doesn't have to be a choice in the poll. If I don't know how to install it, I'll figure it out somehow.

I'm new to Linux in general and I decided to try it... I seem to have most everything working (although, I'm having trouble with Wine and Iptables firewall... but that's not what this topic is for).

Well, I'm looking at different types of desktops, and it seems the main three (or at least, the easiest ones for me to install) are GNOME, XFCE, and KDE. I had GNOME already on Ubuntu but I decided to install the others and they all work well in their own ways.

However, GNOME just doesn't look good and I don't know how to make it look good... Also I want to customize the toolbars/panels so that I only have one panel to deal with. This is a reason I don't like XFCE either. Neither of them look that great, and I can't figure out how to customize panels on either... Oh, and for some reason the system for arranging icons on the desktop is really annoying in GNOME, it's hard to get them aligned right, and the auto-align to grid function doesn't really do the job. That also kinda irritates me. XFCE, however, fixes this problem. But then, in XFCE I don't have the ability to drag and select multiple icons, and that's a little annoying too. However, I can get over not having that if I have to.

Now I'm trying KDE and I really like it so far. I'd say what really matters to me in a desktop are... In order:

1. Obviously it must be stable... I don't mean I want earlier releases just for the sake of stability, only that I don't want too many bugs. I'm not a programmer... =/