PDA

View Full Version : Python development environment

Ozitraveller
January 11th, 2005, 05:51 AM
I've read a lot of the Python threads here and I haven't seen any mention of an IDE I know there is one. And I haven't found it in the repositories yet. I'm just getting into python, so I'm just exploring possibilities here.

I'd be interested to hear what people are using and maybe causes thhem to make the choice, and what they build with python.

I hope this question hasn't been aksed before, I didn't see one!!!

iwasbiggs
January 11th, 2005, 11:08 AM
gvim and a terminal or two. I know there are ample ides on windows but I haven't found one I like for large projects on Linux.

Quest-Master
January 11th, 2005, 02:01 PM
I don't use any IDEs in Python simply because I don't need one, but here's a really nice one called SPE: http://spe.pycs.net/

DirtDawg
January 11th, 2005, 10:09 PM
Shoot. I just use IDLE. But then, I'm not very good at programming (but i do looooove Python!). :D

dataw0lf
January 11th, 2005, 10:12 PM
A combo of jedit and IDLE works for me.
dataw0lf

Ozitraveller
January 12th, 2005, 01:47 AM
Thanks Guys

Ozitraveller
January 12th, 2005, 02:13 AM
I've seen some use PyGTK, and I've mention of Python and Glade, are they the same?

Ozitraveller
January 12th, 2005, 02:22 AM
I've seen some use PyGTK, and I've mention of Python and Glade, are they the same?

Quest-Master
January 12th, 2005, 04:12 AM
Glade is an GUI designer for your applications. You make all of the stuff on the inside work with Python. :)

Ozitraveller
January 12th, 2005, 04:25 AM
Glade is an GUI designer for your applications. You make all of the stuff on the inside work with Python. :)

Interesting Quest-Master. Thanks.

Daniel G. Taylor
January 12th, 2005, 06:37 AM