PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Pangolin Suspend Issue.



marmot1101
February 18th, 2009, 11:19 PM
A couple of months back, I installed 8.10 32bit on my Pangolin(panp4n) to resolve a few compatibility issues that I was having with corporate software. Everything ended up mostly ok, but I have one annoying problem. I cannot bring my machine back from suspend or hibernate. What can I provide here to get some help tracking down the problem?

BTW, I have installed system76 driver and done system recover.

Thanks
Josh

thomasaaron
February 18th, 2009, 11:32 PM
That's a big part of the reason we install 64-bit. It has better suspend/hibernate support than 32-bit on our machines.

You *probably* can get suspend/hibernate to work on the PanP4x if you fiddle with it a bit. Most likely you will need to edit /etc/default/acpi-support.

If you want to post the output of...

cat /etc/default/acpi-support
...I'll try to offer some suggestions. But we dont' even test with 32-bit anymore, so it might be dicey.

Also, I'd be interested in knowing more about why you needed 32-bit. If it is feasible for you to move back to 64-bit, that would be ideal (IMHO).

OR, if there are any other 76ers out there that have gotten it to work with 32-bit...

marmot1101
February 18th, 2009, 11:55 PM
Here is the content of acpi-support
#
# Configuration file for the acpi-support package
#
#
# The acpi-support package is intended as "glue" to make special functions of
# laptops work. Specifically, it translates special function keys for some
# laptop models into actions or generic function key presses.
#


#
# Suspend/hibernate method
# ------------------------
#
# When gnome-power-manager or klaptopdaemon are running, acpi-support will
# translate the suspend and hibernate keys of laptops into special "suspend"
# and "hibernate" keys that these daemons handle.
#
# Only in situations where there is no gnome-power-manager or klaptopdaemon
# running, acpi-support needs to perform suspend/hibernate in some other way.
# There are several options for this. The options are:
#
# dbus-pm:
# Perform suspend and hibernate actions via a DBUS request to the power
# management daemon. This works for power management daemons that we don't
# know of. (For gnome-power-manager and klaptopdaemon this will do nothing,
# since those will be detected when they are running, and triggered using
# a virtual keypress.)
#
# dbus-hal:
# Perform suspend and hibernate actions via a DBUS request directly to HAL,
# bypassing any running power management daemons.
#
# pm-utils:
# Use pm-suspend and pm-hibernate to suspend and hibernate. (The dbus method
# normally results in this as well, but calls through dbus. Use this option
# only if you don't have dbus installed.)
#
# hibernate:
# Use the hibernate package to suspend and hibernate.
#
# acpi-support:
# Use the legacy built-in suspend/hibernate support. (DEPRECATED)
#
# none:
# Do not attempt to suspend/hibernate. Set SUSPEND_METHODS="none" to
# disable suspend/hibernate handling in acpi-support.
#
# If you specify dbus or pm-utils, the result will normally be the same as when
# you suspend from your desktop environment. If you specify "hibernate" or
# "acpi-support", be aware that this probably does not match what your desktop
# environment would do (unless you have managed to configure something so that
# the DBUS power management interfaces call the hibernate package).
#
#
# Please specify a space separated list of options. The recommended value is
# "dbus pm-utils"
#
SUSPEND_METHODS="dbus-pm dbus-hal pm-utils"



#
# LEGACY BUILT IN SUSPEND SUPPORT (DEPRECATED)
# --------------------------------------------
#
# These options only work for the "acpi-support" suspend method. This is NOT
# recommended, but is retained for backward compatibility reasons.
#

# Comment the next line to disable ACPI suspend to RAM
ACPI_SLEEP=true

# Comment the next line to disable suspend to disk
ACPI_HIBERNATE=true

# Change the following to "standby" to use ACPI S1 sleep, rather than S3.
# This will save less power, but may work on more machines
ACPI_SLEEP_MODE=mem

# Add modules to this list to have them removed before suspend and reloaded
# on resume. An example would be MODULES="em8300 yenta_socket"
#
# Note that network cards and USB controllers will automatically be unloaded
# unless they're listed in MODULES_WHITELIST
MODULES=""

# Add modules to this list to leave them in the kernel over suspend/resume
MODULES_WHITELIST=""

# Should we save and restore state using the VESA BIOS Extensions?
SAVE_VBE_STATE=true

# The file that we use to save the vbestate
VBESTATE=/var/lib/acpi-support/vbestate

# Should we attempt to warm-boot the video hardware on resume?
POST_VIDEO=true

# Save and restore video state?
# SAVE_VIDEO_PCI_STATE=true

# Should we switch the screen off with DPMS on suspend?
USE_DPMS=true

# Use Radeontool to switch the screen off? Seems to be needed on some machines
# RADEON_LIGHT=true

# Uncomment the next line to switch away from X and back again after resume.
# This is needed for some hardware, but should be unnecessary on most.
# DOUBLE_CONSOLE_SWITCH=true

# Set the following to "platform" if you want to use ACPI to shut down
# your machine on hibernation
HIBERNATE_MODE=shutdown

# Comment this out to disable screen locking on resume
LOCK_SCREEN=true

# Uncomment this line to have DMA disabled before suspend and reenabled
# afterwards
# DISABLE_DMA=true

# Uncomment this line to attempt to reset the drive on resume. This seems
# to be needed for some Sonys
# RESET_DRIVE=true

# Add services to this list to stop them before suspend and restart them in
# the resume process.
STOP_SERVICES=""

# Restart Infra Red services on resume - off by default as it crashes some
# machines
RESTART_IRDA=false

# Switch to laptop-mode on battery power - off by default as it causes odd
# hangs on some machines. (Note: This is reported to cause breakage in
# Debian - see deb bug #425800. Leaving enabled for Ubuntu for now
# since presumably it's still valid here.)
ENABLE_LAPTOP_MODE=false

# Add to this list network interfaces that you don't want to be stopped
# during suspend (in fact any network interface whose name starts with
# a prefix given in this list is skipped)
SKIP_INTERFACES="dummy qemu"

# Note: to enable "laptop mode" (to spin down your hard drive for longer
# periods of time), install the laptop-mode-tools package and configure
# it in /etc/laptop-mode/laptop-mode.conf.

marmot1101
February 19th, 2009, 12:02 AM
As to the reason why I switched, it was for two reasons. The minor reason was that I was hoping that it would fix a problem that I was having where firefox would stall on certain sites, go gray and eventually need to be killed. The only fix that I could find for that was disabling the nvidia driver, and switching to the nv driver. So switching to 32 bit didn't help this problem at all, and in fact the resolution was less than ideal.

The second reason that I switched, and really the main one is support of the Juniper VPN client. I could not get this to work in the 64bit environment, and honestly could not afford not to be able to pull a vpn to my office while I attempted to fix it. For this problem, reverting to 32bit did work.

I would be more than happy to switch back to 64bit if I could get 32bit java to run properly for this purpose.

thomasaaron
February 19th, 2009, 12:08 AM
Adobe has released a 64-bit Flash plugin that works great.

http://labs.adobe.com/technologies/flashplayer10/