PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] Kubuntu live disc won't load on Macbook 5,2

darkkn1te
February 17th, 2009, 05:50 PM
Hi,

I'm fairly new to Linux (I started with Hardy Heron) and extremely new with Macs. I just bought one of the new white Macbooks and its model id is 5,2. I downloaded the kubuntu 8.10 live disc, and it won't load up. I can get to the first screen where it says "Try Kubuntu without changing your computer". But when I hit enter, I get a line that looks like a memory address and Not Responding, then the screen goes blank.

I know the disc is fine because I used it to install Kubuntu on Virtual Box on the mac. I also used to boot into a Windows computer.

I also tried a Fedora 10 KDE live disc, and it does the same thing. Does anyone have any insight into my problem? Is it because of KDE? Is it because of my model of Mac? Thanks.

cyberdork33
February 18th, 2009, 03:33 AM
Hi,

I'm fairly new to Linux (I started with Hardy Heron) and extremely new with Macs. I just bought one of the new white Macbooks and its model id is 5,2. I downloaded the kubuntu 8.10 live disc, and it won't load up. I can get to the first screen where it says "Try Kubuntu without changing your computer". But when I hit enter, I get a line that looks like a memory address and Not Responding, then the screen goes blank.

I know the disc is fine because I used it to install Kubuntu on Virtual Box on the mac. I also used to boot into a Windows computer.

I also tried a Fedora 10 KDE live disc, and it does the same thing. Does anyone have any insight into my problem? Is it because of KDE? Is it because of my model of Mac? Thanks.I believe you may be one of the first people to try Linux on a MacBook5,2. Unfortunately, it sounds like there is an issue...

It may be the display that is having a problem. You could try a normal Ubuntu disc... and maybe a Jauntu alpha. there are some extra options available on the bootscreen that may force the display to cooperate.

eoldavix