PDA

View Full Version : Confusion over 64bit Flash



Nullack
February 14th, 2009, 10:11 PM
Im confused on Jaunty's current flash plugin for 64bit systems

I thought we moved to the native 64bit flash

But I see that we have 32bit libs being added during the install

Can someone clarify please

plun
February 14th, 2009, 10:28 PM
Its still an "alpha" so Debian wont touch it....

Works just great despite of Debian !

Download:
http://labs.adobe.com/downloads/flashplayer10.html

kurros
February 14th, 2009, 10:46 PM
Yes the current package still uses nspluginwrapper on the 32bit version (which isn't such a horrible thing since it helps isolate flash).

ronacc
February 15th, 2009, 12:20 AM
maybe, but the 64bit version of flash works better ,atleast for me .

Slug71
February 15th, 2009, 02:33 AM
Yep the Alpha 64bit is way better than the one currently with Ubuntu.
Works just fine.

Gourgi
February 15th, 2009, 11:28 AM
i think i saw a bug report for this
but the devs strongly insisted that flash 64 bit is used in jaunty.
i'll have to search launchpad for this to find again.

David A Knight
February 15th, 2009, 12:12 PM
Yep the Alpha 64bit is way better than the one currently with Ubuntu.
Works just fine.

If by just fine you mean pulls down the whole browser if you close a tab that happened to have some flash in it and still sucks up 100% cpu on many occasions then yes.

walmis
February 15th, 2009, 12:17 PM
Youtube HD fullscreen playback is waaay faster for me with 32bit flash + nspluginwrapper than the 64bit version.

plun
February 25th, 2009, 01:08 PM
a new release is available, still alpha

http://labs.adobe.com/downloads/flashplayer10.html


libflashplayer-10.0.22.87.linux-x86_64

------------------------------
32bit is also updated
http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/?promoid=BUIGP

Nullack
February 25th, 2009, 01:24 PM
thanks mate

plun
February 25th, 2009, 01:30 PM
thanks mate

Well... we must try to get this thing within Jaunty.

Just a joke with a big Ia32 package.......

taavikko
February 25th, 2009, 01:31 PM
Im confused on Jaunty's current flash plugin for 64bit systems

I thought we moved to the native 64bit flash

But I see that we have 32bit libs being added during the install

Can someone clarify please

+1 ,should use native 64bit flash
Since flashplugin-nonfree(64) is only pkg pulling nspluginwrapper and 32-libs.

Even java has gone full-64 plugin (sun-java6u12)

Maybe FFe/wishlist?

portis
February 25th, 2009, 02:57 PM
Debian has already turned to this native 64bit plugin.

flashplugin-nonfree (1:2.5) unstable; urgency=low

Nullack
February 25th, 2009, 07:24 PM
Only 32 bit supports opengl acceleration, with compiz off.

jp_coll2003
February 25th, 2009, 07:42 PM
I did not realise that this was the case but I installed the 64 bit version manually anyway when I first installed Jaunty as well as the 64 bit Java install... Personally, I think these run soo much smoother than the 32 bit versions.

taavikko
February 25th, 2009, 07:46 PM
I did not realise that this was the case but I installed the 64 bit version manually anyway when I first installed Jaunty as well as the 64 bit Java install... Personally, I think these run soo much smoother than the 32 bit versions.

64-bit java is already in, no need to manually install that one.

Now just waiting for 64bit flash that we can get rid of excess 32bit libraries and cruft :D

plun
February 25th, 2009, 08:43 PM
Now just waiting for 64bit flash that we can get rid of excess 32bit libraries and cruft :D

Well... lets sing the "crap-song" and maybe something happens...):P

Latest 64bit version is "snappier"/faster ;)


(also a ugly security hole for the moment which this version fixes)

taavikko
February 25th, 2009, 08:52 PM
Well... lets sing the "crap-song" and maybe something happens...):P


I have an better idea, lets just start the new computer-janitor program, maybe it removes unwanted crap...

I posted a question in LP, but there hasn't been any answers yet...

| MM |
February 25th, 2009, 08:57 PM
If by just fine you mean pulls down the whole browser if you close a tab that happened to have some flash in it and still sucks up 100% cpu on many occasions then yes.

For me Flash 64 is leaps and bounds ahead of the previous Flash releases. Are you using Firefox? Because, yea, Flash takes down Firefox quite often... Opera doesn't seem to crash when Flash has an issue. Also i think Flash stability is quite GPU specific. I recently got a new mobo, CPU and GPU (NV6600 -> NV9800) and since the upgrade have notice _much_ improved stability on the part of Flash.

nanog
February 25th, 2009, 10:01 PM
for me nspluginwrapper is/was a disaster. before native 64 bit flash became available i could not run flash on my workstations.

Nullack
February 25th, 2009, 10:04 PM
For me Flash 64 is leaps and bounds ahead of the previous Flash releases.

Not for me, until we have 64bit opengl acceleration like the 32bit version

plun
February 25th, 2009, 10:12 PM
Not for me, until we have 64bit opengl acceleration like the 32bit version

Can you please give us reference URL for your challenge ?

This is my reference:
http://playrapport.se

Swedish national news..... without ads... ;)

dBuster
February 26th, 2009, 02:13 AM
I have had no issues with installing the 64bit flash and did it from the script contained in the this posting: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=772490

I ran that script first before installing any other flavor of flash to include the 32bit version. However I believe this script will remove any other version.

For the latest release I edited the script file and replaced the two instances of the download file with the current download file. Then I executed and my flash was and is now updated to the Feb 24th release.

Sure it is still an alpha release but it runs smoothly for me without any issues and I even have sound!

Nullack
February 26th, 2009, 05:52 AM
Can you please give us reference URL for your challenge ?

Mate I dont have any particular website, its simply that for my test system which is not very powerful I wouldnt be prepared to run flash without OpenGL acceleration. Theres just too much of a load with software decoding.

And oh, it doesnt work with compiz on which is just another reason that until proper GPU memory management gets fully implemented into the graphics stack compiz will continue to be broken.

ronacc
February 26th, 2009, 05:57 AM
Can you please give us reference URL for your challenge ?

This is my reference:
http://playrapport.se

Swedish national news..... without ads... ;)

translate isn't working , I couldn't understand a word he said .:lolflag:

Gina
February 26th, 2009, 07:18 PM
Can you please give us reference URL for your challenge ?

This is my reference:
http://playrapport.se

Swedish national news..... without ads... ;)That's working for me (AMD64 X2) except that I have no sound - but that's another issue (reported elsewhere).

EDIT - Sound OK now after update - so yes that's working fine.