PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Apple iMac G3 boot issues

kc8cpw
February 14th, 2009, 08:44 PM
ok... i'm about to go bald from pulling my hair out... here's the situation...

I have a Applie iMac G3 333MHz/256MB RAM/80GB HD/24x CD-ROM...

I have tried to install the following versions of linux:

Ubuntu 6.10, and 8.10 (I did use the alternate cd for 6.10, but not 8.10)

Slackintosh 12.1

Debian 4.0_r7 I did this as a network install over the internet...

After installing with now problems, I'm told to take the cd out and reboot... I do that... then it says

Please wait, Loading Linux Kernel....:confused:

and it just stops and sits there...:(:(:(

This is my first time to ever mess with a mac and I'm clueless as to what I need to do... Any ideas or suggestions?

Thanks in advanced...

Jonathan

DonaldJ
February 17th, 2009, 03:03 AM
Me too... But I can't even get the G3 to register the image CD yet...
I boot with the CD in, and hold down four keys: Control/Option/p/r, but it always reboots into OS-10..? I wonder if you're supposed to format first..?
Or Slam it on the top with a sledge hammer a couple times to wake it up..?
As you can see I know how you feel...

What did you do to get it to even start with the CD..?

DonaldJ
February 17th, 2009, 03:29 AM
iMac-G3, 40-gig, 256 RAM...
I read that Xubuntu works on low RAM.. and that Ubuntu needs 500-megs... But Xubuntu will try to update itself to Ubuntu 804, and might become unstable in an iMac...

Try: http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/ports/releases/intrepid/release/ Go to "Alternate CD Install"...

Tip: Me thinks you shouldn't let the install update itself to the next level, or it will lock-up your boot, and you will need to reformat and install OS-10 from scratch to get it to install Ubuntu again, given the clock factor...

I stumbled upon this data in one of the other threads...
I tried several times, and failed, so I tried changes till it worked...

Tip: Eject CD's by rebooting while holding down the mouse...