PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Unsupported signal to HDTV, LCD monitor works.

langerak
February 14th, 2009, 01:33 AM
I have a strange issue and i have seen it addressed many times, altho in a different manner.

I have a Point of View GeForce 9400GT graphics card and as for the 3D support it works.
I have a Samsung SyncMaster 913N hooked to the VGA bus of the card and a Philips 37PFL5603 HDTV connected to the DVI bus. It is connected DVI - HDMI.

I installed the latest nVidia driver and managed to setup the monitor settings for both the screens. My Samsung now runs at 1280x1024, but my HDTV keeps saying "Unsupported video format", whatever resolution / frequency i choose, it stays that way. The strangest part is is that it shows BIOS POST screens and the Ubuntu startup logo, but as soon as it is starting X, it fails. I also tried the standard X Vesa driver and that one works with no problems, only no 3D support etc.

Just to mention, it is a full HD TV, so it supports 1920x1080 res. Got it earlier working on a couple of desktops and notebooks.

Now my question is, how to fix this, i saw alot of suggestions like "enable vSync", "change the EDID information (which my TV reports correct)", "use nvtv out". None of these tips works...

One last point which i find strange: Last week, my old 8400GS card from XFX died, but had always worked with Ubuntu / MythTV without any problems on the same TV, now i replaced it with the current 9400GT and all these problems rised. I even did a couple of reinstalls of Ubuntu, without succes...

I really hope someone has a proper solution as i want to use this box for MythTV for playing my HD content :).

Any help is appreciated and thanks in advance!

UPDATE:

When i launch the screensaver panel and test some screensavers (not all work), the screen of my TV starts flickering and sometimes i see the ubuntu background showing up in the top left corner of the screen.
Now i am terribly confused lol :P

langerak