PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu Help

sk7499
February 13th, 2009, 10:31 PM
I am trying to setup a dual boot XP and ubuntu. I have XP currently installed on the CPU i can load ubuntu fine i try to resize the partition i have a 160gb hardrive giving ubuntu 60gb but i get an error when i resize the partition an error has occured. Should be able to resize the partition im trying to install ubuntu 8 the new version from a cd.

overdrank
February 14th, 2009, 01:34 AM
Hi and welcome, moved to Absolute Beginner Talk

ugm6hr
February 14th, 2009, 01:38 AM
1. Backup important files first (resizing partitions can cause datat corruption).
2. Boot from Ubuntu LiveCD - select "Try without making any changes" option
3. In Ubuntu Menu: System -> Aministration -> Partition Editor
4. Select correct HD (if you have more than one)
5. Resize XP partition to 100GB (right-click on HD coloured box gives options)
6. Apply changes (make sure files are backed up!)
7. Double-click Install on desktop
8. Select "Guided - Install using largest free space" option.

Hopefully the rest should be pretty obvious.

Captain_tux
February 14th, 2009, 01:49 AM
Also, be sure to defrag and run chkdsk the drive at least once (perhaps twice!) before you begin the partitioning.

Good luck and welcome to Linux/Ubuntu!

sk7499
February 20th, 2009, 12:11 AM
It says an error occured while applying operations i cannot get to the install screen as it will not apply it does xp have a restriction that it does not allow a resize of the partition.

Kareeser
February 20th, 2009, 12:14 AM
No, but due to the fragmented nature of the NTFS file structure, bits and pieces of files are strewn all over your hard drive, including places you want to resize for your Ubuntu partition.

Did you run defrag on Windows before trying to install Ubuntu?

sk7499
February 20th, 2009, 12:27 AM