PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Bulk file renaming...

AndrewS
February 13th, 2009, 09:49 PM
Hello

I have a lot of files that I want to rename, and I can't figure out how to do it with any of the simple tools available (Thunar, Krename, Metamorphose).

The files have a common format:

AA1234_xx_xx_x.jpg

The string before the first "_" is up to six characters long and there is a variable number of "_" before the period preceding the extension.

What I want is to get rid of everything from the first "_" to the period, i.e. the above file name would become:

AA1234.jpg

Thanks in advance

Andrew

kanikilu
February 13th, 2009, 10:18 PM
I'm by no means a regex expert, but I think this would work:

$ rename -v 's/(\w{6})[\w]+\.jpg$/$1\.jpg/' *

Note, this assumes several things:

1) You are in the directory that has the files that need to be renamed
2) The files you want to rename have exactly 6 characters that you want to keep in the final name.
3) The files all end in ".jpg" (not ".JPG" or anything else)

Lastly, you may substitute the "-n" option instead of "-v" to test it first. Once you know that it will work, then go back and run it with "-v".

AndrewS
February 14th, 2009, 12:09 AM
Thanks for the reply - I'm sure that would work for files with six characters I want to keep, but the number is variable (3, 4, 5, or 6). I guess I could sort them manually then try that sort of thing.

Thanks again

Andrew

apostate
February 14th, 2009, 12:30 AM
Naw, you can use a FOR loop to go through and mass rename them. I wrote a script to do it on videos, but I lost it. Let me decompress fromthe IT world for a few and I will try to write you a script that will do it.

kaibob
February 14th, 2009, 12:50 AM
I suspect there's an easier way, but the following works regardless of the number of characters before the underscore.

#!/bin/bash
cd /directory/name
for FILE in *_*.jpg ; do
FILENAME="$(echo "$FILE" | cut -d _ -f1).jpg"
cp "$FILE" "$FILENAME"
done

AndrewS