PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Cable modem/router issues

Lopezadl2ian
February 13th, 2009, 03:52 AM
Hello to all,

I am very new to the Linux OS so please have patients while I am at the bottom of the learning curve. I just switched from Windows and I am having trouble getting the Ubuntu 8.10 (64-bit) OS connected to the internet. My current configuration consist of a Cable modem I believe it is a Motorola supplied by Time Warner Cable and that feeds to a router in which another data cable feeds of a Netgear router and connects to my computer. I read online that the cable modem should configure it self and I would not have to configure anything. I clicked on the Network browser applet. and I don't see anything connection. I am not sure what to do at this point. I have search online with a computer at work to and tried running some commands in terminal mode but still I have no Ethernet detection. I am wondering if I have a driver issue or maybe I am doing something completely wrong. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

cerealtx
February 13th, 2009, 03:54 AM
most cards will work out the box, open terminal and get some info for me

ifconfig
and post what ya get

jrusso2
February 13th, 2009, 03:58 AM
While your at it run lspci unless you have usb ethernet or wireless?

cerealtx
February 13th, 2009, 04:02 AM
While your at it run lspci unless you have usb ethernet or wireless?

he said cable from his netgear to comp so should be ethernet :P

Lopezadl2ian
February 13th, 2009, 04:04 AM

ifconfig
and post what ya get

Will do. I dont get of work until around 10:30pm so i wont be able to provide that information until around 11:30pm. Thanks!

Lopezadl2ian
February 13th, 2009, 11:57 AM

ifconfig
and post what ya get

This is what I got as an output when I typed the command ifconfig:

ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ ifconfig
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask: 255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1