PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] problem with flash



anico
February 13th, 2009, 02:16 AM
Ok so i've installed java and flash successfully .. or so i'm told by my computer..

alexander@alexander-laptop:~$ sudo apt-get install flashplugin-nonfree
[sudo] password for alexander:
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
flashplugin-nonfree is already the newest version.
The following packages were automatically installed and are no longer required:
libboost-date-time1.34.1 libboost-thread1.34.1 openssh-blacklist
Use 'apt-get autoremove' to remove them.
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.

alexander@alexander-laptop:~$ java -version
java version "1.5.0_16"
Java(TM) 2 Runtime Environment, Standard Edition (build 1.5.0_16-b02)
Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 1.5.0_16-b02, mixed mode)

yet whenever i enter a site that requires flash..firefox will let me know that i need to install missing plugin... i accept to download flash plugin but it says it's already clearly installed...

What is going on? Any help will be greatly appreciated (also i'm very very new to ubuntu.. please write as if i were 7 :) )

thanks in advance!

RomeReactor
February 13th, 2009, 02:34 AM
Hi. in Firefox's address bar, write:

about:plugins
and press ENTER; scroll down and see how many entries you have for "Shockwave Flash", and post them here.

anico
February 13th, 2009, 02:35 AM
Shockwave Flash

File name: /usr/lib/swfdec-mozilla/libswfdecmozilla.so
Shockwave Flash 9.0 r100

MIME Type Description Suffixes Enabled
application/x-shockwave-flash Adobe Flash movie swf Yes
application/futuresplash FutureSplash movie spl Yes

roshanjose
February 13th, 2009, 02:36 AM
thats not latest...

install flash 10 rom the adobe

anico
February 13th, 2009, 02:39 AM
i know but i thought this version could work too. When i go to the flash site to download the .deb file.. i get an error saying "Error: Wrong architecture 'i386' "

RomeReactor
February 13th, 2009, 02:58 AM
Shockwave Flash

File name: /usr/lib/swfdec-mozilla/libswfdecmozilla.so
Shockwave Flash 9.0 r100

MIME Type Description Suffixes Enabled
application/x-shockwave-flash Adobe Flash movie swf Yes
application/futuresplash FutureSplash movie spl Yes
Looks like you have swfdec-mozilla installed; if you have the gnome package installed, removing swfdec-mozilla will also uninstall the gnome metapackage, but not the rest of the packages themselves. Note that having the Gnome package installed is not the same as the Ubuntu desktop package.


i know but i thought this version could work too. When i go to the flash site to download the .deb file.. i get an error saying "Error: Wrong architecture 'i386' "
You seem to be running Ubuntu 64 bit; to make sure, open a terminal (Applications->Accessories->Terminal), paste the following there:

uname -m
and if the result is x86_64, you have a 64 bit installation.

Ether way, you can uninstall the swfdec-mozilla package and install flashplugin-nonfree (close Firefox first):

sudo aptitude purge swfdec-mozilla && sudo aptitude install flashplugin-nonfree
Reopen Firefox, and Flash should be working.

anico
February 13th, 2009, 08:59 AM
So it appears i do have the 64 version.. what is the difference??
I used the code you gave me and still no luck with flash... how does the gnome package differ from ubuntu package??? I am really lost! thanks

3rdalbum
February 13th, 2009, 11:53 AM
Flash 10 for 64-bit is still in development stage but it is available from http://labs.adobe.com/downloads/flashplayer10.html right at the bottom of the page.

RomeReactor
February 13th, 2009, 12:24 PM
So it appears i do have the 64 version.. what is the difference??
There was no 64 bit version of Flash until recently, as 3rdalbum pointed out.


I used the code you gave me and still no luck with flash...
Did you restart Firefox after purging swfdec-mozilla?


how does the gnome package differ from ubuntu package??? I am really lost! thanks
The gnome package isn't installed by default, whereas if you installed Ubuntu, you get the ubuntu-desktop package by default. In other words, you must manually install the gnome package; otherwise, it won't be installed on your system.

As 3rdalbum says, there's now a 64 bit version of the flash plugin, and it seems to perform better than the 32 bit version with a wrapper. If you wish to install it, open a terminal and run:

gedit Flash64
When Gedit opens, paste this into it:

#!/bin/bash
aptitude -y purge flashplugin-nonfree nspluginwrapper swfdec-mozilla gnash mozilla-plugin-gnash gnash-common
updatedb
for x in `locate libflashplayer.so`; do rm $x; done
wget http://download.macromedia.com/pub/labs/flashplayer10/libflashplayer-10.0.d21.1.linux-x86_64.so.tar.gz
tar -xvzf libflashplayer-10.0.d21.1.linux-x86_64.so.tar.gz
cp ~/libflashplayer.so /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins
rm ~/libflashplayer-10.0.d21.1.linux-x86_64.so.tar.gz
rm ~/libflashplayer.so
This will make sure your system doesn't have any conflicting libflashplayer.so files, and it will install the plugin, essentially copying the file to /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins, so it is available systemwide; now save the file, close Gedit, and make the file executable:

chmod +x Flash64
Close Firefox, then run the script using sudo:

sudo ./Flash64
Now open Firefox again, and Flash should be working.

anico
February 14th, 2009, 03:41 AM
I followed the procedure but it seems as though mozilla didn't recognize it as a plugin :( i went on about:plugins and there was nothing from flash there.I may have made a mistake as the file is in my home folder..although this one seems to be here:


alexander@alexander-laptop:~$ ls -al /usr/lib/mozilla//plugins/
total 9328
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 2009-02-13 21:16 .
drwxr-xr-x 4 root root 4096 2009-01-20 05:12 ..
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 9526312 2009-02-13 21:16 libflashplayer.so

i don't know if i should reinstall it and save it in /urs/lib/mozilla/plugins folder?

sorry to bother you this way! i'm so close to get it!!

Thanks so much!
:)

RomeReactor
February 14th, 2009, 03:55 AM
Did you restart Firefox after installing the plugin? If so, close Firefox and delete the xpti.dat file in ~/.mozilla/firefox/*default:

rm ~/.mozilla/firefox/*default/xpti.dat
Open Firefox again and see if it now lists the plugin. What version of Ubuntu do you have?

anico
February 14th, 2009, 04:31 AM
i typed in the code.. is it normal that nothing happened as a result of typing that in terminal?
ugh.. it's still not showing anything in firefox..


i have ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron...