PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help the n00b!!

brianfantastic
February 12th, 2009, 08:37 PM
Hey there guys and girls. First of all id like to say im an ABSOLOUTE beginner. I downloaded and installed ubuntu because ive head great things about it.

Id consider myself an intermediate pc user, but since switching to ubuntu i feel like a 3 year old who needs to circumnavigate the globe using only his wits.

My problem.

I need to install graphics card drivers. My card is an ATI radeon HD 4670 sapphire. I go to ATI's website and download the linux driver. Low and behold it appears on my desktop as a .run file. I click it and nothing happens. Now this is where i draw the blank. I know im an utter noob. I want to know how to make the file run and install the drivers. I feel like such an idiot because i cant make it do anything... If you need any more info in order to help me just let me know.

Guys, any and all help will be appreciated, i really have fallen in love with ubuntu and id love to keep it, but if i cant even get my head around installing a simple set of drivers then i think im going to have to go back to *shudders* windows.

Please help!

kdreimiller
February 12th, 2009, 08:38 PM
follow the installation instructions on ATI's website. their install instructions work just fine.

kanikilu
February 12th, 2009, 08:38 PM
See if either of these guides answer your question:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/RadeonDriver

OR

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/BinaryDriverHowto/ATI

DGortze380
February 12th, 2009, 08:40 PM
Hey there guys and girls. First of all id like to say im an ABSOLOUTE beginner. I downloaded and installed ubuntu because ive head great things about it.

Id consider myself an intermediate pc user, but since switching to ubuntu i feel like a 3 year old who needs to circumnavigate the globe using only his wits.

My problem.