PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] best way to set up a network to share files

jimmybarcelona
February 12th, 2009, 06:22 PM
This is my first post ever on ubuntu forums, so I'm sorry if I'm asking something exceedingly obvious. I'm completely new to the world of ubuntu, though learning a lot. I suspect there are several possible ways to accomplish what I'm trying to do, so I was hoping that if I laid out a scenario, perhaps someone could help me find the best way to set it up so I'm not chasing my tail with thing that wouldn't work anyways.

I have 3 computers running ubuntu hardy heron in a lab at the school where I work. They are mainly used by students to access the internet and write papers. It is a public lab, so each student be sitting at a different computer each time. Should I set up a shared folder (with sticky bits enabled) on one of the computers and put a desktop link to it in each of the student's Desktop folders?

I also have another desktop ubuntu hardy heron computer in my office. Right now it has no monitor, mouse, or keyboard attached to it. If I want to use it I log into it via my laptop using XDMCP. Would it be better to just set that computer up as a server?

Any links, resources, or suggestions would be helpful. Thanks!

ethoxyethaan
February 12th, 2009, 06:33 PM
right click on the desktop and add a quick launcher,
use this as the command:

nautilus smb://hello-world/
Replace /hello-world/ with the actual samba share server, if the students click this it will open the PC with the files.
you could make a account for every student on the server and hand out passwords, so they can safe / access files on the PC without deleting each-others content.

If you need help making accounts or Creating shared folder, just ask.

jimmybarcelona
February 12th, 2009, 07:22 PM