PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] My newly Ubuntu'ed desktop gets turfed off the wifi by my XP laptop!

Scubdup
February 6th, 2009, 11:29 PM
I'm playing with Ubuntu like a child with a new toy and I was very impressed it had not probs with the wifi and connected to the internet very easily.

Then the missus wants to use my newly freed up laptop for surfing and it would appear the laptop (running XP) turfs my machine off the wifi.

The connection is still there but no pages load.

Any explainations?

The laptop has internal wifi card. The ubuntu desktop is using a USB wifi dongle. The router is a Huawei Echolife 520.

I have been through the router settings and cannot see anything immediately obvious as wrong.

Thanks for any help.

ozbuntu01
February 6th, 2009, 11:41 PM
Hi scubdup ,

Im a newbie to ubuntu also :D

.................................................. ..........................

What brand/models are your Wireless Adapters ?

What version of Ubuntu are you using ?

What are the security settings on your network ?

Are you using Automatic DHCP or manual configurations ?

Is your USB dongle Wireless Adapter Mac Address added into your router ?

When your Ubuntu machine only, is connected to the internet with your USB Adapter , does your router read the device as "attatched" ? (You should have a option to view all the Wireless Adapters Devices that are connected to your router somewhere in your router settings)
.................................................. ........................

Please also type the outputs of the following terminal commands:

ifconfig

&

iwconfig
.................................................. .........................

This info should help us a bit more :)

da mono
February 7th, 2009, 12:38 AM
are the devices using the same ip ?? or probably named the same ??? have u tried surfing when your xp machine is surfing a mean start up your xp machine and the your ubuntu machine ???

Scubdup
February 7th, 2009, 08:10 AM