PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Having trouble connecting to a MAC-address based network



infm
February 6th, 2009, 10:40 PM
I have a Lenovo Thinkpad W500, running Ubuntu 8.10, with the following wireless adapter


03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR242x 802.11abg Wireless PCI Express Adapter (rev 01)


and I am having trouble connecting to a school wireless network based on MAC-address identification.
I have already checked everything I could think of (which is not much).

I was having trouble connecting to any wireless network, so I used this (http://madberry.org/2008/11/how-to-get-atheros-ar242x-to-work-on-810-intrepid-ibex/) guide to get my wireless card to work, because it just wasn't showing up on ifconfig or iwconfig

Anyway, I'm fairly new to Linux and Ubuntu, so I was wondering if there was anything that could be stopping me from connecting to my school network.

BrandonBan6
February 6th, 2009, 10:49 PM
Hi infm,

Welcome to Ubuntu and Linux...

Can you tell us a little more specific information about the troubles you are having. Can you see the wireless connection? Does it connect and not give an IP address? What happens when you try to connect to your school's network?

infm
February 6th, 2009, 11:09 PM
Hi infm,

Welcome to Ubuntu and Linux...

Can you tell us a little more specific information about the troubles you are having. Can you see the wireless connection? Does it connect and not give an IP address? What happens when you try to connect to your school's network?

Basically, from what the IT guy said, I'm trying to connect, and everything is set up just fine, but for some reason, I'm getting blocked.
He says the problem is on my end, but I'm not too sure since I don't have a firewall or anything that could be blocking my connection, unless the driver package in the guide I linked to earlier had a firewall of some sort.

BrandonBan6
February 6th, 2009, 11:33 PM
Hmm, that is still hard to tell.

Can you paste a copy of your ifconfig list?
In terminal type ifconfig.

Sub101
February 6th, 2009, 11:42 PM
Is the school wireless restricting access based on MAC addresses?

If so, and you know your wireless works correctly, I would think it would be on the other end and that you have not been added to the list MAC list yet.

infm
February 7th, 2009, 12:26 AM
Hmm, that is still hard to tell.

Can you paste a copy of your ifconfig list?
In terminal type ifconfig.


eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:21:86:a0:b8:dd
inet addr:192.168.2.2 Bcast:192.168.2.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::221:86ff:fea0:b8dd/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:985499 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:748086 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:100
RX bytes:1003338591 (1.0 GB) TX bytes:62576021 (62.5 MB)
Memory:fc200000-fc220000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:26 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:26 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:1376 (1.3 KB) TX bytes:1376 (1.3 KB)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:23:4d:af:38:26
inet addr:192.168.2.6 Bcast:192.168.2.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::223:4dff:feaf:3826/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:1541 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:28 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:146748 (146.7 KB) TX bytes:5812 (5.8 KB)

wmaster0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-23-4D-AF-38-26-38-32-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

infm
February 7th, 2009, 12:28 AM
Is the school wireless restricting access based on MAC addresses?

If so, and you know your wireless works correctly, I would think it would be on the other end and that you have not been added to the list MAC list yet.

Yes, basically you submit your MAC address to get added to the allowed list of computers.

The IT guy assures me that everything is working perfectly on his end.

infm
February 7th, 2009, 09:38 AM
Shameless bump.
I really need this issue resolved :(

Sub101
February 7th, 2009, 06:46 PM
Ok, based on your ifconfig I think your card should work fine, but just to confirm, can you connect to other wireless networks?

And what security does the network use?

infm
February 7th, 2009, 07:37 PM
Ok, based on your ifconfig I think your card should work fine, but just to confirm, can you connect to other wireless networks?

And what security does the network use?

Yes, I can connect to other networks.
They didn't tell me, but from what I gathered, they just use the allow list and some other sort of anti-vius type of protection system.

NoobBiscUiT
February 8th, 2009, 04:30 AM
So they have some kind of VPN or MAC address filtering set up on their network?

and you have registered the MAC w/ them if so i assume.

Is there a way you can change your MAC address?
i know on some distros it's possible, also would uninstalling the card and re installing it help?


Is it possible that the card you are using, is incompatible w/ the encryption/authentication method on the network you are trying to connect to?