PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Fatal Server Error: No Screens Found

MrCharles
February 5th, 2009, 05:00 PM
I'm a Linux newb - so please understand.

I just install Ubuntu 8.10 Everything went fine - until I enabled NVidia Drivers and Re-booted. Now I get no GUI login - Only 'Fatal Server Error: No screens found giving up"

xinit: Connection Refused (errno 111): unable to connect to x server
xinit: No such process (errno 3): Server Error

I have no idea what to do in this situation.
I have dual Nvidia 8800GTS - that I'd like to setup for twinview - but as of now I can't even get a GUI!

Help!

Ringi
February 5th, 2009, 06:14 PM
Try, in Terminal:

sudo dpkg-reconfigure gdm

MrCharles
February 5th, 2009, 07:56 PM
invoke-rd.d: initscript gdm, action "reload" failed

should I have shut down gdm first?

when i dont' stop it - i just get a dialog that say "Changes will take effect whena ll current X sessions have ended"

either way - startx still shows errors

All from the NVidia driver - breaking my xconfig

problem is - I have no idea howto edit my xconfig from terminal - nor do i understand what the values mean. thinking I'm just going to go back to winblows

MrCharles
February 5th, 2009, 08:11 PM
Tried this btw
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1054842

Didn't work for me.

Anyone out there have any suggestions?

MrCharles
February 6th, 2009, 01:16 PM
For the record.
I was finally able to get everything working using the 180.11 Drivers in Synaptic (which are outdated btw). I just had to edit my xconfig from terminal to add the PCI BusID. However -it's posing many conflicts with both Compiz and my Dual Screens.

Unfortunately at this point - I'm unsatisfied with this issue, and will be returning to windows.

redroad55
February 6th, 2009, 04:00 PM