PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Cannot Share Internet



ProNux
February 5th, 2009, 03:23 AM
Hi,

Sorry if my post is too long.

My dual boot laptop (XP,Ubuntu) can share internet to a PC via crossover cable USING Windows XP but not Ubuntu. My laptop connects to an open access point / hotspot that gives me a DHCP address of 192.168.0.xxx.

At Windows, I cannot share using ICS (error due to the IP address of WLAN is already configured to ICS, so I cannot assign an IP to local LAN 192.168.0.xxx). What I did was bridge the NICs (WLAN and LAN) and got it working. There is an error IP conflict but just ignore it since it works anyway.

Now when I am at Ubuntu, I cannot share the internet. I tired bridge utilities and ICS at Firestarter Firewall but no avail.

My question:
Is it possible that the OPEN access point/hotspot I am connected to prevents me to share the internet?

dmizer
February 5th, 2009, 04:44 AM
Try this howto: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Internet/ConnectionSharing

ProNux
February 5th, 2009, 01:16 PM
Guys,

Additional inquiry:

Is Internet Connection Sharing at Firestarter Firewall same as creating a network bridge?

Thanks.

dmizer
February 5th, 2009, 03:11 PM
I highly suggest NOT using Firestarter for ICS. It's default configuration is too restrictive and tends to break a lot of local network services.

ProNux
February 6th, 2009, 10:19 AM
Thanks.

I followed correctly the procedure. My client is on Windows XP. I successfully shared the internet but only for about 5 minutes. After that, even my host PC cannot access the internet.

Any ideas?

dmizer
February 6th, 2009, 12:23 PM
On the host PC, can you post the output of:

sudo ifconfig
Also, what version of Ubuntu are you using?

ProNux
February 7th, 2009, 01:46 AM
Hi, My rausb0 is connected to the net (dhcp, 192.168.0.xxx), my eth0 going to the client. Thanks in advance...

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:16:d3:xx.xx.xx
inet addr:192.168.0.1 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::216:d3ff:fee7:a3b8/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:5 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:912 (912.0 B) TX bytes:492 (492.0 B)
Interrupt:17

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:1859 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:1859 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:78958 (77.1 KB) TX bytes:78958 (77.1 KB)

rausb0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1f:1f:xx.xx.xx
inet addr:192.168.0.134 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::21f:1fff:fe14:4632/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:9729 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:5695 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:9777172 (9.3 MB) TX bytes:558784 (545.6 KB)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr xx:xx:xx:78:0e:e0
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

wmaster0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-1B-77-78-XX-XX-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

ProNux
February 7th, 2009, 02:02 AM
Hi Dmizer,

I also found out that my host PC disconnects to the internet if I set the local eth0 ip to 192.168.0.1, since I think this is also the IP of the AP I am connected to. If I change it to something like 192.168.0.10, my rausb0 can connect to the internet but still cannot share internet.

Note also that I am only connected to an open hotspot/access point (does it matter)?

Thanks...

dmizer
February 7th, 2009, 12:30 PM
Your rausb0 and eth0 are currently configured for the same subnet, that is why you are getting disconnected. You can't have two network cards on the same subnet.

You should configure your eth0 ethernet adapter with something other than 192.168.0.1. 192.168.1.1 should be fine.

ProNux
February 8th, 2009, 04:27 PM
Thanks. Now it's working!!! :popcorn: