PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Cannot enable Visual Effects



peterthegeek
February 4th, 2009, 05:58 PM
Hi there, I'm new to the Ubuntu forums, and pretty new to Ubuntu. The other day I was trying to get AWN working, but I needed to enable the visual effects (Compiz). When I tried to enable it, it say "Cannot enable desktop effects." (or something like that). I have checked restricted drivers in case it was my graphics card, but there aren't any available. I have also tried installing xserver-xgl, but that didn't work. Any help would be greatly appreciated :D

Therion
February 4th, 2009, 06:00 PM
Do you know what graphics card or integrated graphics chip you have on your PC?

Take a look at Compiz-Check: http://forlong.blogage.de/entries/pages/Compiz-Check

Let us know what it tells you.

peterthegeek
February 4th, 2009, 06:07 PM
I have an Intel X3100 integrated graphics card.

I ran compiz-check, and this is what it outputted:


Gathering information about your system...

Distribution: Ubuntu 8.10
Desktop environment: GNOME
Graphics chip: Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 0c)
Driver in use: vesa
Rendering method: AIGLX

Checking if it's possible to run Compiz on your system... [SKIP]

Checking for hardware/setup problems... [SKIP]

At least one check had to be skipped:
Error: vesa driver in use

Would you like to know more? (Y/n) y

The vesa driver is not capable of running Compiz, you need to install
the proper driver for your graphics card.

When I told it to check if there is an alternate driver available, it found none.

redroad55
February 4th, 2009, 06:58 PM
In looking at your post as well as looking in inte's imfo this is what I come up with
http://support.intel.com/support/graphics/sb/CS-010512.htm
also this link
http://intellinuxgraphics.org/
best I can tell the driver is in the works .. you will have to do more research .. there are many looking for it's developement Post back ..Best to you..

Therion
February 4th, 2009, 07:38 PM
Compiz-Check is reporting you have an Intel 965 integrated chipset; that's the mobile version of the X3100 series. It's not impossible to get Compiz running on that chipset, but it's not going to be easy either.

Do a forum Search on your chipset, I'm sure you'll find some help with getting Compiz running.

Best of luck to you.

peterthegeek
February 4th, 2009, 10:38 PM
I realized that whenever I start up the computer, it says something like "Could not find graphics something something blah blah." Then it gave me a few options. I usually click "Boot in Low-Graphics mode" or something, but this time I chose to use a default something to reconfigure the graphics. Now it works. :D:D:D

redroad55
February 4th, 2009, 10:50 PM
That"s great .. The Gnomes fixed it..You got to have them on your side or you'll be posting here alot..Best to you