PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] DVDwas working.. now not.New install.

forestwalkerjoe
February 4th, 2009, 05:36 PM
I am still in all truth , a newbe.So.. there will be things i understand.. and then all the rest.

I have been playing with linux off and on for a couple years now.. and family friends had a hard virus issue. I was trying to set up a duel booted system for them .. so that they can use the things they want in Windows.. ( their choice) and the rest in UBUNTU LINUX IBEX.
ran into some trouble.. so i chose to learn a bit about UBUNTU by installing DUEL BOOT onto my very old laptop. we had some issues with the install.. and functions.. most of which have been addressed by PYTHIAS22.
EXCEPT ONE.. the DVD player.. was by default not working.. i was able to do the extra downloads.. and i played an ABBOT COSTELLO DVD on the system with no trouble. I tried my LINGO Interactive DVD language course.. NO DICE.
thats ok.. but i took lap top to my night job.. security.. and popped in a NETFLIX Video.. and it freezes the system. IT does mount it.. but it gives errors. wont play.
i checked anther DVD.. not NETFLIX.. same same.. freeze Crash.
i have had a couple of the PLAYERS on here.. i am wondering if they are conflicting.
Just a side note.. i have not actively tried any DVD other than the above .. and only right after that update from the extras area for download.
JAVA ETC.
yesterday i did notice on the GETTING STARTED PAGE some offerings that are good for folks to check out.. one was new to me.. MIRO.. it claims its INTERNET TV.. in a stretch of a way.. it is. I downloaded some TV news things and so forth.. and the quality is quite good.. they delete after you have watched them.. and no need to be connected to watch them.
I am wondering if that program hijacked my Codex's or some such or if they Players conflicted or some thing. Can some one help me out here? i want to be able to show the system to the host family.. and say.. SEE ain't this GREAT!