PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] compiz + tvtime +ubuntu youtube video. Is it fake?



Blackie_Chan
February 4th, 2009, 03:17 AM
I have been trying to get compiz + tvtime working on my ubuntu 8.10 box for a long time, and still no luck.

Today, I found this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8wGg0ZyIs8M Is the video fake? I've spent a lot of time googling and no one else has been able to get it to work together.

I've also email the video poster, asking how he did it, and haven't gotten a response.

Here's my current xorg.conf:


Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen "Default Screen" 0 0
InputDevice "Configured Mouse"
InputDevice "Remote"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "glx"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Configured Mouse"
Driver "mouse"
Option "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Remote"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Device" "/dev/lircm"
Option "Protocol" "IntelliMouse"
Option "SendCoreEvents"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Configured Monitor"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Radeon 9600"
Driver "fglrx"
Option "XAANoOffscreenPixmaps"
Option "VideoOverlay" "on"
Option "TexturedVideo" "off"
Option "OpenGLOverlay" "off"
Option "Textured2D" "off"
Option "TexturedXrender" "off"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Device "Radeon 9600"
Monitor "Configured Monitor"
DefaultDepth 24
EndSection

Section "DRI"
Mode 0666
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
Option "Composite" "Enable"
EndSection

cariboo
February 4th, 2009, 03:51 AM
I didn't bother with the video, but tvtime has nothing to do with compiz, you just have to have the proper video driver installed. check the screenshots.

I do have compiz turned on but I only have floppy windows and transparent terminals setup.

Jim

Blackie_Chan
February 4th, 2009, 01:04 PM
I didn't bother with the video, but tvtime has nothing to do with compiz, you just have to have the proper video driver installed. check the screenshots.

I do have compiz turned on but I only have floppy windows and transparent terminals setup.

Jim

What video driver do you have installed? I'm guessing you are not using an ATI card.