PDA

View Full Version : Has anyone gotten SPDIF out to work on ASUS M3N78-VM With MythBuntu 8.10?

nicoloks
February 3rd, 2009, 03:40 AM
Hi All,

I'm pretty new to linux and am building a new HTPC for a mate using the ASUS M3N78-VM NVidia 8200 / Via VT1708B 8 -Channel High Definition Audio CODEC (http://www.asus.com/products.aspx?modelmenu=2&model=2268&l1=3&l2=149&l3=643&l4=0) based motherboard. My mate is wanting to to use the optical SPDIF output on this motherboard as an audio pass through device to allow his external receiver to do the DD/DTS decoding, but I am having awful trouble getting it to work, so at present I have it hooked up via 6 channel analog which works fine.

Steps I have taken are;

Used the ALSA upgrade script on these forums to upgrade to ALSA 1.0.19 (my alsa-info.sh output can be seen here (http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=806304b85240b1fa6af464c720abb195df467c38))
Ensure that IEC958 was not muted in alsamixer
In MythTV and Xine I have set the audio to use the SPDIF as the output, and also set the pass through option for AC3/DTS.
Verified that BIOS was set to use SPDIF for digital audio
Followed the DigitalOut (http://alsa.opensrc.org/index.php/DigitalOut) guide on the ALSA project WIKI

I've searched these forums and the Internet quite a bit, and am as yet to find anyone who has successfully gotten digital audio pass through to work on this motherboard. So before I continue to waste more time on this I though it best I check if it was actually possible. Has anyone gotten digital audio to work over SPDIF (or HDMI for that matter) on the Asus M3N78-VM motherboard? I would also appreciate hearing from anyone who has successfully gotten digital audio to work over SPDIF on any motherboard using the VIA VT1708B 8 -Channel High Definition Audio CODEC.

nicoloks
February 3rd, 2009, 09:45 AM