PDA

View Full Version : Enabling SB Audigy SoundCard

ptmuldoon
February 1st, 2009, 07:10 PM
Well, I'm still brand new at mythbuntu, and starting to pull what what little hair I have out.

I just can't seem for the life of me to get sound to work. I have an SB Audigy card in the machine, but only the onboard sound seems to work. I've tried disabling the onboard sound in bios, hoping the sound would work, but nothing either on the front end ir with vlc and xine.

I think partly the issue could be by video card, and ATI HD 3600 card that has built in HDMI and 5.1 surround. (I have not enabled the ATI proprietary driver yet).

I'm been looking at the alsamixer settings, but my SB audigy card is not showing there.

I'm very new at Mythbuntu and linux, but I think I should be able to get this sound working.

Any one have any suggestions or help they can offer?

Thanks
Pt

ptmuldoon
February 4th, 2009, 02:28 AM
I hate to bump a post. But does anyone have any suggestions in trying to get an SB Audigy Sound card to work? I thinking I have a driver issue, but could it be a hardware conflict with the HD video card that includes HDMI out. I'm currently not using the HDMI, but the vga out of the video card.

slick666
February 7th, 2009, 12:19 AM
I have it working but not under Mythtv.

i.e. I can open a movie under vlc with the myth frontend closed and it plays just awesome :). Unfortunately I can't get MPlayer under Mythtv to run it the same way.

Here's what I did to get it running

Go to the console
Type alsamixer
make sure the iec958 in unmuted
Make sure the next frew iec related level are set to about 80% (dbgain=-0.5)
Hit the Tab key to go to input devices
select the "Digital" entry and scoll down until it displays IEC958 o (IEC958 out)
Then hit escape

This should allow digital output to work but not analog. I hope this gets you up to speed and if anyone could offer some advice on how to configure myth it would be greatly appreciated.

slick666